About Watertown 

Located in the Middlesex County, Watertown was once home about 6,000 years ago, to two Native American tribes, (the Pequossette and the Nonantum) before the Europeans took over. They were living along the banks of what is now known as the Charles River, named in honor of King Charles I of England. Watertown one of the earliest settlements in the Massachusetts Bay in 1630, it was later in that same year that it was incorporated into a city. Six neighborhoods surround Watertown: Bemis, Brigham (Brigham Historic District), Coolidge Square, East Watertown, Watertown Square and the West End.



Watertown is located to the north of Boston, bordered by the town of Belmont, on the South side lies the cities of Newton and Brighton that was formed by the Charles River. To the east lies the city of Cambridge while on the west side of the Watertown is the more expensive city of Waltham.

  • Watertown is 8 miles away from the city of Boston and only 4 miles from Newton.
  • Total Area: 4.2 sq. miles Land Area: 4.1 sq miles
  • Population: 31,915 (2010) Density Population: 7,932.0 sq. mile 


  • Normal temperature in January: 36.8°F
  • Normal temperature in July: 55.2°F
  • Normal annual precipitation: 43.12” 


Form of Government: Council-manager, City Manager: Michael J. Driscoll

Year Incorporated as a Town: 1630


The Massachusetts Turnpike is a major highway that connects downtown Boston and Watertown. Watertown is also has several MBTA buses and trackless trolley that pass the Watertown square and Watertown yard, there used to be a Green Line MBTA line for Watertown and it ran until 1969.



Subscribe to our Events eNewsletter, INBusiness or BOTH!