Chamber News

March 23, 2017 Likes Comments

Plotkin to chair Newton EDC


Newton’s Economic Development Commission, a city board that advises and makes recommendation to city officials and staff on business matters, has elected Joyce Plotkin to serve as its new chair.

Plotkin brings a strong innovation economy perspective to the role, having served as the president of the Mass. Technology Leadership Council, a trade association for the software and Internet industry, for its first 22 years.

She currently serves on the Newton-Needham Chamber’s N2 Innovation District Task Force and chairs the N2 Economic Development Initiative Campaign committee. Plotkin also serves as a member of the Board of Visitors for Northeastern University’s D’Amore-McKim School of Business, and Overseer Emerita of the Boston Museum of Science.

“I am excited to serve as the chair of Newton’s EDC because it builds on my many years of business advocacy and enables me to continue to collaborate and bring together various constituencies to accomplish common goals,” Plotkin said.

“Newton already has three key elements that make the city a premier business setting — our location close to Boston, affordable commercial real estate rates, and a well-educated workforce,” Plotkin added. “The job of the EDC will be to get the word out that Newton is open for business.”

“Joyce’s appointment is great news for Newton,” said Greg Reibman, president of the Newton-Needham Regional Chamber. “She brings tremendous insights, passion, and diplomatic skills to City Hall at a time when our city is about to elect a new mayor and our city council is looking to make significant changes to our zoning code, housing, transportation and other matters that will impact our business climate here for years.”

The EDC was established by city ordinance with a mission to promote and develop business and industry for the purpose of strengthening the local economy, providing jobs, and expanding the city's tax base.

Plotkin was elected at the EDC’s February meeting for a one-year term. Robert Finkel was elected vice chairs and Chuck Tanowitz as the EDC’s secretary.

The commission usually meets at 7:30 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month at City Hall. Meetings are open to the public.


Subscribe to our Events eNewsletter, INBusiness or BOTH!